FYMS * Buckingham Nicks & Sound City

"Music really isn’t supposed to be perfect. It’s all about people relating to each other and doing something that’s really from the soul. It must come from the soul.” - Tom Petty, Sound City 

Watched the Sound City documentary (by Dave Grohl) again last night. Every time I watch it, I come away with something new to look up and listen to.

This time, it was the debut (and only) album by Buckingham Nicks - the collaboration of Stevie Nicks and Linsdey Buckingham, before Fleetwood Mac got together.

It was released in 1973 and produced by Keith Olsen (pretty much a legendary producer/engineer), and has not been remastered or re-released on any format since. Kind of cool.

Here's the track listing - thanks to YouTube, you can listen to the full album online. Check out "Don't Let Me Down Again" and "Frozen Love"!

  1. "Crying in the Night" (Nicks) – 2:48
  2. "Stephanie" (Buckingham) – 2:12
  3. "Without a Leg to Stand On" (Buckingham) – 2:09
  4. "Crystal" (Nicks) – 3:41
  5. "Long Distance Winner" (Nicks) – 4:50
  6. "Don't Let Me Down Again" (Buckingham) – 3:52
  7. "Django" (John Lewis) – 1:02
  8. "Races Are Run" (Nicks) – 4:14
  9. "Lola (My Love)" (Buckingham) – 3:44
  10. "Frozen Love" (Nicks, Buckingham) – 7:16


FYMSFYMS, jul2014Comment